VBTC to broadcast World Rugby Sevens

HSBC-World-Rugby-Sevens-Series3VBTC has secured the exclusive television rights in the Vanuatu territory for the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

This effectively means that Television Blong Vanuatu is the only television outlet licensed by the International Rugby Board (IRB) to televise all 10 rounds of the World Rugby Sevens series in Vanuatu.

The Series begins on November 29-30 in Dubai, with reigning champions South Africa defending the title.

This will be followed a week later in Cape Town (South Africa) from 8-9 December and then:

  • New Zealand 26-27 January 2019
  • Sydney 1-3 February 2019
  • Las Vegas 1-3 March 2019
  • Vancouver 9-10 March
  • Hong Kong 5-7 April 2019
  • Singapore 13-14 April 2019
  • London 25-26 May 2019
  • Paris 1-2 June 2019

Television Blong Vanuatu will bring viewers live broadcast of all 10 rounds of the HSBC Sevens World Rugby Series on its free-to-air channel. TBV is also available on Channel 25 of Canal-Plus in digital.

“VBTC will continue to do the ethical thing and legally acquire the television rights to rebroadcast popular sporting events in Vanuatu,” said VBTC’s Chief Executive Officer Francis Herman.

“We will also provide a range of other sporting events including cricket, hockey, basketball and other sports that are relatively new to Vanuatu.”